Future Makers Awards & Supports & Supports 2018 Finalists

Posted 07.06.18

View Gallery

Design & Crafts Council of Ireland’s Future Makers fund of €23,500 recognises and supports emerging Irish designers and makers

Philip Hamilton, Creative Director of Perch, Dublin; Claudia Casali, manager of International Museum of Ceramics in Faenza, Italy; Fiona Byrne, Education Manager. Design & Crafts Council of Ireland


DCCoI's Future Makers Awards & Supports programme for 2018 has a prize fund totalling €23,500 this year, rewarding the next generation of Irish creatives and assisting them as they develop a career in the design and craft industry. Finalists have now been selected by internationally renowned Claudia Casali, manager of International Museum of Ceramics in Faenza, Italy and Philip Hamilton, Creative Director of Perch, Dublin.

Future Makers Awards & Supports was established in 2009 and is one of several DCCoI initiatives supporting and investing in a new generation of talent in the design and craft sector. Divided into student and recent graduate/emerging practitioner categories and covering a broad range of disciplines, the Future Makers programme recognises and rewards vision, innovation and excellence in both making and the creative process.

Previous winners and recipients of Future Makers Awards & Supports have established and developed careers across a wide breadth of design specialties in the creative sector. Former winners include fashion designers Pearl Reddington, Natalie B. Coleman, and Sorcha O’Raghallaigh; jeweller Pierce Healy; leather artist Úna Burke; design studio Superfolk; and furniture designers Cillian Ó Súilleabháin and Alan Meredith.

Winners will find out which award or support they have received at an award ceremony in Dublin on Thursday, 12th July. The top prize for students is €2,500 and the top prize for Emerging Makers is €3,500.

Finalists in the Emerging Makers category for 2018 are:

  • Sinead Brennan
  • Elements of Action
  • Sandra Hartwieg 
  • Genevieve Howard
  • Ann McBride
  • Alison McEvoy
  • Raychel Murphy
  • Pearl Reddington
  • Sarah Roseingrave
  • Aoife May Soden

Finalists in the Students category for 2018 are:

  • Aislynn Porscha Bagnall
  • Egle Banyte
  • Helen Costello
  • Orlaith de Paor
  • Niamh Flynn
  • Nicola Hutchinson
  • Fiona Hurson
  • Bonnie Kavanagh
  • Maureen Laverty
  • Kieran McNeely
  • Lily Read
  • Ala Sinkevich

Full details on the programme are available at www.futuremakers.ie.

< back